PROJECT #3, FINAL VERSION

3 Mar

**My sound project did not really change that much from the rough mix. The only changes were the panning and addition of a few more sounds. After the critique of the rough mix I decided to experiment with the effects in garageband to make my piece more abstract. When I listened to the abstracted version I had realized that I didn’t like it anymore. For some reason the artificial sounds did not really have the same affect on me that the real sounds had. To me the real sounds create more of an environment I could actually picture my in while the abstracted version created an artificial environment that for some unknown reason didn’t irritate me like the real sounds did. Long story short, I ended up going with something similar to the rough mix because it felt much more personal to me than altering something just to alter it.

For this sound art assignment I decided to compile sounds that distract me. I wanted to recreate that feeling I get when I have a something to do and I am trying my best to concentrate but then I just start to focus on all of the sounds around me. Whenever I know I have to concentrate I always find myself getting distracted by the littlest of noises like someone coughing or writing loudly. Eventually all those little noises just build up and becomes too much. I did this in my sound art by layering up various distracting sounds and sounds that are related to schoolwork. Some of the sounds that I recorded are writing noises, coughing, a clicking of a pen, an instant messaging noise and crinkling of paper. I really tried to play with panning in this project to create a sound that was very atmospheric to really put the listener in this noisy, uncomfortable, anxious, and unproductive environment.

Leave a comment